In July 2020 one of the nation’s 2,500 museums will be accepting the accolade of Art Fund Museum of the Year. Those who want to be on stage in London accepting the prize next summer have until 13th February to apply.

To be considered, museums are asked to demonstrate their achievements of the past twelve months, explain what makes their work inventive and highlight the impact it has had on audiences. This work can include: exhibitions and events, engagement programmes, use of digital media and technologies, transformation of the museum’s physical space, and demonstrating leadership on issues such as equality, diversity and inclusion.

The shortlist of five finalists will be revealed in late April, with the winner set to be announced at a July award ceremony in London. The winning museum will scoop £100,000, while each of the four runners up will pocket £10,000.

With Stephen Deuchar, who has chaired and selected the judging panel since the award’s relaunch in 2013, stepping down from his role as Art Fund director on 31st March, the 2020 Museum of the Year chair will be Art Fund trustee Dame Liz Forgan.

Art Fund – Going Places – Oct 2023

Previous winners

2019 St Fagans National Museum of History
2018 Tate St Ives
2017 The Hepworth Wakefield
2016 V&A
2015 Whitworth
2014 Yorkshire Sculpture Park
2013 William Morris Gallery
2012 Royal Albert Memorial Museum & Art Gallery
2011 British Museum
2010 Ulster Museum
2009 Wedgwood Museum
2008 The Lightbox

Art Fund Museum of the Year will continue its media partnership with the BBC for 2020, as the Corporation programmes both the build-up and live coverage of the event across its platforms.

Back to top