A new year brings a fresh list of New Year Honours, among which are scientists, chairs, artists, volunteers and curators from the museums and heritage sectors.

Among this year’s recipients is Ian Swinney, Area Ranger for Bookham Commons in the Surrey Hills. Swinney received a BEM in the New Year Honours, and is retiring after 50 years working for the National Trust.

Two scientists at the Natural History Museum have also been recognised. The museum’s longest serving research scientist Professor Chris Stringer (CBE) and Dr Sandra Knapp (OBE) are among this year’s list.

Dr Doug Gurr, Director of the Natural History Museum said: “Both Chris and Sandy are at the forefront of their fields, world leaders making significant impacts to science internationally. A huge congratulations to them both”.

Artist Sir Grayson Perry has been made a Knight Bachelor for services to the arts.

Perry tweeted “It seems the news is out and I’m not quite ready”, alongside a photo in knight armour.

A full list of the individuals receiving honours is as follows:

Art Fund – Going Places – Oct 2023

Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE)

Professor Heather Jane McGregor CBE FRSE, Provost and Vice Principal, Heriot-Watt University Dubai, for services to education, business and to heritage in Scotland.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Peter William Kyle OBE, lately Chair of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, for services to cultural heritage.

Eve Coulter Salomon, Chair of the Horniman Museum and Gardens, for services to the Arts and heritage.

Professor Christopher Brian Stringer FRS, Research Leader of Human Evolution, Natural History Museum, for services to the understanding of human evolution.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Peter Michael Aiers, lately Chief Executive of Churches Conservation Trust, for services to heritage.

Dr Richard Alan Fortey FR, Senior Palaeontologist at the Natural History Museum, for services to Palaeontology and Geology.

Dr Sandra Diane Knapp FRS. Botanist and Individual Merit Researcher, Natural History Museum. For services to Botany and the Public Understanding of Science. (London)

Simon Mellor. Deputy Chief Executive, Arts and Museums, Arts Council England. For services to the Arts. (London)

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Dr Edson Burton. Writer, Academic and Curator. For services to the Arts and to the community in Bristol. (Easton, Bristol)

Andrew Thomas Crummy. Designer and Artist. For services to Art and to Cultural Heritage in Scotland. (Prestonpans, East Lothian)

Deborah Joan Greaves. Curator, Tenterden and District Museum. For services to the community in Tenterden, Kent. (Tenterden, Kent)

Meryl Ann Hayward. Director, Corporate Services, Historic England. For services to Heritage. (Swindon, Wiltshire)

Peter Robert Jardine. Volunteer, Isle of Wight Steam Railway. For services to Heritage Railway. (Newport, Isle of Wight)

Edward Roger Mallinson. Chair and Boat Manager, The Shamrock Trust. For services to Steam Boating Heritage and to the community in Cumbria. (Troutbeck Bridge, Cumbria)

Hammad Nasar. Curator, Author and Art Historian. For services to the Arts. (London)

John Patrick Reyntiens. Stained Glass Artist. For services to Art and Heritage. (London)

Professor Pamela Beaumont Robertson FRSE. Lately Curator, The Hunterian Art Gallery, University of Glasgow. For services to Architecture. (Glasgow, Glasgow)

Jenifer Jane White. Historic Landscape Adviser, Historic England. For services to Heritage and to Historic Parks and Gardens. (Saxmundham, Suffolk)

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Kathleen Elizabeth Maclean (Kate Dickson). Lately Trustee, Architectural Heritage Fund. For services to Heritage. (Buxton, Derbyshire)

Keith Leonard Schnaar. Museum Guide and National Fellowship Volunteer, Order of St John. For voluntary service to St John Ambulance in London. (London)

David William Scott. For services to Countryside Conservation and to Heritage. (Williton, Somerset)

Ian Francis Swinney. Countryside Area Ranger, Bookham Commons. For services to Conservation and Heritage in Surrey. (Leatherhead, Surrey)

Reverend Jason Young. Writer and Director. For services to Cultural Heritage and Public Awareness of Black British History through the Creative Arts. (London)

Andrew Allan Scarffe. For services to the preservation of Laxey and Lonan Heritage and the Isle of Man Railways.

Back to top