After years of sitting empty, Templemore Baths has been brought back to life with an exciting new exhibition.

Thanks to Belfast City Council investing £12 million and National Lottery support of £5 million, the Grade B+ listed building has completed its extraordinary renovation journey and can welcome visitors to explore its heritage.

The visitor interpretive spaces will be managed by East Side Partnership.

Originally opened in 1893, Templemore baths provided washing and sanitary facilities for the families who came to live in east Belfast attracted by the development of the Harland and Wolff shipyard and other manufacturing industries.

Designed by Tandem, the exhibition tells the story about the building’s former use and its importance to the community through artefacts, photographs and personal stories of the people who once swam there, grew up in the area or worked nearby, celebrating its heritage, and re-presenting the values it once held in the social life of the locality.

Many of the baths’ existing historic features have been restored and several interpretive elements integrated. The interpretive content is pitched at a level that appeals to all ages, learning styles and visitor types. It consists of graphic panels, audio visual elements, physical and digital interactives and models which are all used to connect people to the social history of the building and the area.

Mukesh Sharma, Chair, Northern Ireland, The National Lottery Heritage Fund said: “This is a significant investment which will not only preserve the fabric of the building itself but seek to uncover the fascinating history and many stories connected with its past. We hope that many more people will have the opportunity to explore the unique heritage of this important Belfast landmark.”

Martin McErlean, Heritage Manager at Marcon, commented; “Thanks to money raised, this landmark building has been saved for the local community and future generations to enjoy and continue to build on its captivating heritage.”

The new exhibition opened its doors to visitors on 27th June 2023.

Marcon Fit-Out

Back to top